University of Kentucky College of Agriculture

 

 

Extension Entomology Personnel
Ric Bessin, Lexington
Fruit, vegetables, IPM coordinator, IR-4 Coordinator
rbessin@uky.edu
Patty Lucas, Princeton
IPM specialist
plucas@uky.edu
Blake Newton, Lexington
4-H & youth entomology
blaken@uky.edu
Mike Potter, Lexington
Urban and industrial pest control, medical entomology
mpotter@uky.edu
Darlene Thorpe, Lexington
Staff assistant
dthorpe@uky.edu
Lee Townsend, Lexington
Livestock, forages, landscape and turf, pesticide training
lee.townsend@uky.edu
Raul Villanueva, Princeton
Grain crops, stored grain
raul.villanueva@uky.edu

 

Invasive arthropods in Kentucky
Asian chestnut gall wasp
Emerald ash borer
Brown marmorated stink bug
Gypsy moth
Hemlock woolly adelgid
Kudzu bug
Spotted winged Drosophila
Walnut twig beetle - 1,000 cankers disease Drosophila

 

Insecticide Recommendations
Field and horticulture crops Livestock & Poultry
Alfalfa, clover, pastures ENT-17
Beef cattle ENT-11
Field corn ENT-16
Dairy cattle ENT-12
Grain sorghum ENT-24
Horses ENT-513
Popcorn ENT-62
Poultry ENT-28
Small Grain ENT-47
Sheep & Goats ENT-22
Soybeans ENT-13
Swine ENT-23
Tobacco ENT-15
Commercial Vegetable Production Guide
Midwest Fruit Pest Management Guide

 

Section 18 Emergency exemption for sugarcane aphid on sweet sorghum
The Kentucky Department of Agriculture has authorized the use of Sivanto Prime (EPA Reg. No. 264-1141) to control the sugarcane aphid (Melanaphis sp.) on sweet sorghum under a Section 18 Crisis Exemption within Kentucky. Applicators must have a copy of this declaration letter, the Section 18 label, and the product container label when treating sweet sorghum.

 

Section 18 Emergency exemption for sugarcane aphid on grain sorghum
The Kentucky Department of Agriculture has authorized the use of Transform WG (EPA Reg. No. 62719-625) to control the sugarcane aphid (Melanaphis sp.) on grain sorghum under a Section 18 Crisis Exemption within Kentucky. Applicators must have a copy of this declaration letter, the Section 18 label, and the product container label when treating grain sorghum.

 

Last Updated: